COLUMBIA, S.C. (WBTW) — More than 110 churches across South Carolina, including several in the Rock Hill area, are separating from the United Methodist Church in a dispute over sexuality doctrine.

The South Carolina United Methodist Conference said Tuesday in a news release that its 1,500 members “overwhelmingly approved the closure of 113 local churches whose members have voted to separate from The United Methodist Church.”

There are at least 11 in the immediate Rock Hill area that are not on the list.

“We pray for these churches that have chosen a different journey,” Bishop L. Jonathan Holston said after Tuesday’s vote. “May we also acknowledge that that which binds us will never leave us. In the midst of our separation, may we show each other the grace and love that you demonstrated through your sacrifice on the cross and your resurrection from the grave.

“For those who are leaving us, we bless you and send you on your way. For those who are remaining, we pray that God gives us a new will to do what God has called us to do. May it become clear, may it become important, may it move from our heads to our hearts.”

According to the Conference, the churches “determined that they can no longer function as a United Methodist church because they firmly believe that the denomination has not consistently upheld its stated doctrine on issues of human sexuality.”

The United Methodist Book of Discipline prohibits performing same-gender weddings and the ordination of “self-avowed practicing homosexuals,” the Conference said.

Separating churches, which will be closed effective June 30, are:

Florence District

  • Cades UMC (Cades)
  • Cameron UMC (Lake City)
  • First UMC (Hemingway)
  • St. Paul UMC (Coward)
  • Ebenezer UMC (Hemingway)
  • Old Johnsonville UMC (Johnsonville)
  • Mt. Vernon UMC (Greeleyville)
  • Prospect UMC (Pamplico)
  • Lane UMC (Lane)
  • Liberty Chapel UMC (Florence)
  • New Zion UMC (New Zion)
  • Pine Grove UMC (Timmonsville)
  • Pisgah UMC (Florence)
  • Cedar Swamp UMC (Kingstree)
  • Millwood UMC (Kingstree)
  • Tabernacle UMC (Pamplico)
  • Shiloh UMC-Turbeville (Lynchburg)
  • Trinity UMC-New Zion (Alcolu)
  • Trio UMC (Salters)
  • Pine Grove UMC (Turbeville)
  • Salem UMC (Timmonsville)
  • Earle UMC (Andrews)
  • Suttons UMC (Andrews)
  • Good Hope UMC (Hemingway)
  • St Luke UMC-Kingstree (Salters)

Hartsville District

  • Concord UMC (Bishopville)
  • Dalzell UMC (Dalzell)
  • Lewis Chapel UMC (Sumter)
  • Bethel-Oswego UMC (Sumter)
  • McLeod Chapel UMC (Rembert)
  • St. John UMC (Rembert)
  • St. John UMC (Sumter)
  • St. Mark’s UMC-Broad Street (Sumter)
  • St. Matthew UMC (Bishopville)
  • Beulah UMC (Camden)

Marion District

  • Trinity UMC (Andrews)
  • Wayne UMC (Georgetown)
  • Bethel UMC-Georgetown (Andrews)
  • Aynor UMC (Aynor)
  • Rehoboth UMC-Aynor (Galivants Ferry)
  • First UMC (Bennettsville)
  • Zoan UMC (Loris)
  • Antioch UMC (Bennettsville)
  • Christ UMC (Bennettsville)
  • Pisgah UMC (Aynor)
  • Boykin UMC (Bennettsville)
  • Trinity UMC (Clio)
  • Pine Grove UMC (McColl)
  • Smyrna UMC (Bennettsville)
  • Berea UMC (McColl)
  • Main Street (Dillon)
  • First UMC (Loris)
  • Main Street UMC (McColl)
  • Brown Swamp UMC (Conway)
  • Oak Grove UMC (Wallace)
  • Pleasant Hill UMC (Marion/Wallace)
  • Center UMC (Mullins)
  • Tranquil UMC (Mullins)

Anderson District

  • St. Andrew UMC (Easley)
  • Chiquola UMC (Honea Path)
  • Bells UMC (Abbeville)
  • Salem UMC (Salem)

Charleston District

  • Aldersgate UMC (North Charleston)
  • Charleston Korean UMC (North Charleston)
  • Friendship UMC (Cross)
  • Pinopolis UMC (Pinopolis)
  • Point Hope UMC (Mt. Pleasant)

Columbia District

  • Columbia Korean UMC (Columbia)
  • Rehoboth UMC (Batesburg-Leesville)
  • Chapin UMC (Chapin)
  • Lebanon UMC (Eastover)
  • Mt. Horeb UMC (Lexington)
  • Pond Branch UMC (Gilbert)

Greenville District

  • Dials UMC (Gray Court)
  • Shiloh UMC (Gray Court)
  • Buncombe Street UMC (Greenville)
  • Covenant UMC (Greer)
  • Sharon UMC (Greer)
  • Zoar UMC (Greer)
  • Mauldin UMC (Mauldin)
  • Mountain View UMC (Taylors)

Greenwood District

  • Hodges UMC (Hodges)
  • Shiloh UMC (Saluda)
  • Butler UMC (Saluda)
  • McCormick UMC (McCormick)

Orangeburg District

  • Limestone UMC (Orangeburg)
  • Ebenezer UMC-Orange Circuit (North)
  • Cattle Creek UMC (Rowesville)

Rock Hill District

  • Grace Community UMC (Fort Mill)
  • Capers Chapel UMC (Chester)
  • Catawba UMC (Catawba)
  • New Hope UMC (Chester)
  • Armenia UMC (Chester)
  • Mt. Vernon UMC (Hickory Grove)
  • Bethel UMC (Lancaster)

Spartanburg District

  • Wesley Chapel UMC (Union)
  • Liberty UMC-Campobello (Landrum)
  • Buffalo UMC (Buffalo)
  • Campobello UMC (Campobello)
  • Carlisle UMC (Carlisle)
  • Bethlehem UMC-Jonesville (Union)
  • Sardis UMC (Union)
  • Fosters Chapel UMC (Jonesville)
  • Lyman UMC (Lyman)
  • Roebuck UMC (Roebuck)
  • Reidville Road UMC (Moore)
  • Walnut Grove UMC (Roebuck)

Walterboro District

  • Tillman UMC (Tillman)
  • Cottageville UMC (Cottageville)
  • Cypress UMC (Ridgeville)
  • Mt. Tabor UMC (Ridgeville)
  • Trinity UMC (Ridgeville)
  • St. Paul UMC (Ridgeland)